Ascentia Wine Estates Signs Distribution Agreements with Southern Wine & Spirits of America - Deal Aligns the Two Companies Across 23 Markets
December 07, 2011, Miami, Florida – Ascentia Wine Estates (Ascentia) announced today that it has signed multi-year distribution agreements with Southern Wine & Spirits of America, Inc. (Southern), the nation’s leading wine and spirits distributor.  These agreements align the two companies across a total of 23 open and control markets and are effective immediately.


Jim DeBonis, Ascentia’s Chief Executive Officer, commented, “We are excited to conclude this extensive set of market distribution agreements with Southern Wine & Spirits.  We know Southern will leverage its leading sales capabilities, unparalleled distribution presence and fine wine expertise to partner with Ascentia to grow our collection of fine wine brands effectively for years to come.”


Southern’s Senior Vice President & President, Wine Division Mel Dick said, “We look forward to many years of successful growth for the wonderful brands of Ascentia.  These agreements build on our long-standing relationship with these stunning wines, which represent a varied fine wine appellation experience—from prime growing regions in California to the State of Washington to Idaho.”


Steve Slater, Southern’s Executive Vice President & General Manager, Wine Division, added, “Southern is thrilled by our new national alignment with Ascentia across our network.  We are confident that through this long-term agreement, Southern’s commitment to fine wine brand stewardship and Ascentia’s aggressive go-to-market strategy will prove to be a successful platform for Ascentia’s portfolio success long into the future.”

With the execution of these 17 open and four control market agreements—along with two existing franchise market agreements—Southern represents Ascentia brands in 23 markets throughout the United States.  The markets covered by the new and existing agreements are as follows: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, South Carolina, Utah, Washington and Wyoming.

Posted on Wednesday, December 07, 2011 (Archive on Friday, January 06, 2012)
Posted by   Contributed by